3 | by Steel City Anna

steelcityanna-45

The images and notes in blog-post No.3  are used with kind permission.  They are borrowed from the blog of Steel City Anna  who was the first person to respond to the original 45 blog-post.    I very much enjoyed her images and also the notes about her experience of the walk. 

“Inspired by the blog Little Bits of Sheffield I did a little photo exercise called “45” this evening. It was really fun, and much harder than I first thought.

This is how you do it, and this bit of text is copied from Little Bits of Sheffield(hope that’s OK):

Walk for 5 minutes and take a photograph from where you stand.  Repeat for the duration of 45 minutes to complete a set of 9 images.  Take only one photograph at each location and none in between.  Spend no more than one minute composing the image then move on to the next.  The first image at each location will be the one you keep.  Do not delete or retake any images.

My images above were taken today the 3rd of October between 17.00 and 17.45 in the Sheffield city centre.

I usually take a lot of pictures at the same time, and I tend to look for trees, flowers and old buildings and it was hard to just take one photo and leave it there. It was also difficult to stand still and resist the temptation to go towards the objects I am naturally drawn to.

The first photo with the mural of the steel worker was a good starting point as I got off the bus there and it immediately attracted my attention. Then I just wandered around aimlessly in the city centre, knowing I wanted to catch my bus home again from the Peace Gardens later on. It was weird to take your time walking around during the rush hour when everybody were trying to get home as quickly as possible … That affected my route and I went on roads which were less busy. A backstreet to the cathedral, then to Orchard Square which was very quiet. Down to West Street where I saw the writing in the window – something I wouldn’t have noticed if it wasn’t for the exercise. I saw the sun shine through the old phone box in a beautiful way and I would have taken several pictures here under normal circumstances. Walked past the City Hall that looked amazing in the warm evening glow but my 5 minutes weren’t up yet and I ended up on another backstreet where I took the “Popworld” photo. Went through Barker’s Pool and saw the monument with the soldiers that I have always liked, and finally in the Peace Gardens I caught a last glimpse of the Herd of Sheffield with a detail of a bird on an elephant’s belly.”

Leave a Reply

